Effective Defense After Multiple DUI Arrests
Consequences for a second, third or subsequent DUI arrest are more severe than those for a first time offender. The stiffer the possible sentence, the more you need a skilled, experienced, and board certified attorney to protect you.
Never assume that there is nothing a lawyer can do to help you after a DUI arrest. Contact a Clearwater criminal defense lawyer at Bauer Crider & Parry for a free consultation. We have offices in Tampa, Clearwater and Port Richey.
We aren't just any law firm. Three of our attorneys are board certified in criminal trial practice by the Florida Bar Board of Legal Certification. Another one of our attorneys helped found the National College For DUI Defense, Inc., an organization that teaches other attorneys how to successfully defend clients facing DUI charges.
We have a deep understanding of DUI law and will work diligently to find a way to minimize the negative effect of your DUI arrest. Below, we outline just some of the potential penalties for multiple DUI arrests under Florida law.
Second conviction: You can be fined up to $1,000. If your blood alcohol level (BAC) was .20 or higher or if you had a minor in the car, you can be fined up to $2,000.
Third DUI conviction within 10 years: You can be fined up to $5,000.
- Second conviction: You can be sentenced to nine months in prison on a second DUI conviction — up to a year if you had a BAC of .20. If it is your second DUI within five years, there is a mandatory minimum imprisonment of at least 10 days.
- Third DUI conviction within 10 years: There is a mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days, and up to five years in prison.
- Third conviction in more than 10 years: You can be locked up for up to a year.
- Fourth or subsequent DUI conviction: Up to five years in prison.
- Second offense within five years: Minimum five-year revocation.
- Third offense within 10 years: Minimum 10-year revocation.
- Fourth offense or DUI murder: Mandatory permanent revocation.
Impoundment of Vehicle
- Second conviction within five years: 30 days
- Third conviction within 10 years: 90 days.