Tampa DUI Lawyer
Attentive Clearwater Attorneys Effectively Manage DUI Issues
HELPING YOU APPROACH THESE DIFFICULT CRIMINAL CHARGES
Because drunk driving has the potential to endanger others on the road, law enforcement officers can be overzealous in their pursuit of people they believe to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This isn’t always fair, and the Tampa-area attorneys at Bauer Crider & Parry are proud to fight for the rights of people falsely accused of drunk driving. Our legal services for criminal defense covers DUI, and we have the experience and knowledge to walk you through the process. We represent clients in local, state and even federal court, leveraging our decades of combined experience to help you fight the charges against you. Tampa residents and those from around the area who need a DUI lawyer can approach our firm for professional legal aid and guidance.
DUI laws in the state of Florida
Under Florida law, driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is an offense that is proven by a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of .08 percent or above. Penalties for a first DUI conviction include a fine of at least $500 (at least $1,000 if the driver’s blood-alcohol level was more than .15 percent), at least 50 hours of community service and probation. In some cases, incarceration may be recommended for a first offense; if this is the case, the term will not exceed more than six months (nine months if the blood-alcohol level is more than .15 percent). For a second offense, the fine is at least $1,000 ($2,000 for a BAL of .15 percent or more) and a possible prison sentence of no more than nine months (12 months for a BAL of .15 percent).
For a third offense, if it has occurred at least 10 years after the second offense, the fine is at least $2,000 or $4,000 for a BAL of at least .15 percent. If the conviction occurs within 10 years of the second, a mandatory minimum prison sentence of at least 30 days is required. If the conviction does not occur within 10 years, a prison sentence of no more than one year may still be imposed.
Penalties can also be incurred for boating under the influence. The same BAL limits apply when boating, and a person found to be operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is subject to the same penalties as a person found driving a car under the influence. This is a unique area of criminal law, so be sure to work with a lawyer with experience in it.
Implied consent laws
If you are arrested for driving under the influence, Florida law requires that you take a blood, breath, urine or field sobriety test to determine your blood alcohol content. If you have been lawfully arrested, Florida’s implied consent law says you consent to take one of these tests. You cannot refuse this test or a second test if it is required, without penalty. Penalties for refusal include driver license suspension; in addition, information about your refusal will be used against you in court. A lawyer with Bauer Crider & Parry can answer any questions you might have about implied consent.
Work with a Clearwater & St. Petersburg law firm experienced in drunk driving defense
If you have been charged with DUI, contact a DUI attorney from Bauer Crider & Parry for legal services at 1-727-446-4800. You may also contact us online. Our services are available to clients in the Clearwater, Tampa, St. Petersburg, Port Richey, Pinellas County, and Hillsborough County, Florida areas.