Consequences Of A DUI In Florida
Need A Clearwater St Pete Tampa Bay DUI Defense Attorney Lawyer?
April is alcohol responsibility month. Whether you’re a parent with kids in elementary school, a new teen driver, or aan adult with plans for a happy hour tonight, we’re asking everyone to learn more about the importance of alcohol responsibility this month.
Fortunately, Florida is not among the states that rate high in drunk driving. But, tragically, 676 Floridians lost their lives due to drunk driving in 2013. Twenty eight percent of driving fatalities in Florida that year involved alcohol impaired drivers.
If you drink alcohol and drive you dramatically increase your chance of being in a crash. In addition, if you are pulled over and the officer asks you to take a blood, urine or breath test you are required to comply. Florida has the “Implied Consent Law”. When you sign your driver’s license you have agreed to take these tests upon request. Refusal to take any of the tests will result in an immediate suspension for one year. A second refusal will result in an 18 month suspension.
Florida has a Zero Tolerance law for drivers under 21. This means that any driver under 21 that is stopped by law enforcement and has a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher will automatically have their Florida driver’s license suspended for 6 months. The .02 limit really means that you cannot have a single drink and drive. And that’s the idea.
For drivers over 21 the legal limit in Florida is .08. Regardless of your
age be aware that drinking and driving is considered a serious offense.
Below we have summarized the penalties in the state of Florida for a first
offense DUI, but the average cost including legal defense, fines, and
auto insurance increases is $8000.
Florida penalties for first DUI convictions are the following:
1. Fine – up to $500
2. Community Service – 50 hours
3. Probation not to exceed 1 year
4. Imprisonment no to exceed 6 months
5. License revocation of no less than 6 months
6. DUI school – 12 hours