The Price Of An Ignition Interlock
Getting a DUI in Florida has many penalties and consequences. One penalty everyone wants to avoid after a DUI is an ignition interlock device. These devices require drivers to blow into a breathalyzer and if the driver is intoxicated, the vehicle will not start. The device will beep five minutes later if the driver needs to blow again. The device will also beep every 30 minutes and the driver will have to breathe into it again.
Ignition interlocks are not only embarrassing and inconvenient, they can also be expensive. Not everyone convicted of a DUI is required to get an interlock device, it depends on if the driver has previous DUIs.
Here’s how the court mandates interlock devices. Sentences can be harsher if the driver has a minor in the car at the time of the DUI or if the driver’s blood alcohol level is .20 or greater.
|Court can order one|
|First DUI with minor in car or .20||Up to six months|
|Second DUI||Minimum 1 year|
|Second DUI with minor in car or .20||Minimum 2 years|
|Third DUI||Minimum of 2 years|
Cost of an Interlock Device
Getting an interlock device installed typically costs $70 with a $100 refundable deposit. There’s also a monthly monitoring and calibration fee of $67.50. These fees can add up quick, especially with other expensive fees that come with a DUI conviction.
If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in Florida call the lawyers at Bauer Crider & Parry. With more than 130 combined years of experience, the Florida Defense team can defend your case and fight for a favorable sentence.