Clearwater Assault & Battery Defense Attorneys
Helping You Fight the Serious Charges Against You
The Clearwater criminal defense attorneys of Bauer Crider Kenny & Parry know how to defend clients accused of assault or battery.
Since 1989, we have successfully represented thousands of clients arrested for offenses such as:
- Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon
- Aggravated battery with a deadly weapon
- Felony battery
- Domestic violence
Assault and Battery in Florida
Assault and battery is often referred to as a single crime occurring when a defendant threatens and makes physical contact with a victim. However, each term has its own definition, and each can be applied as a separate charge.
What Is Assault & Battery?
Assault is an intentional act that causes another person to be afraid of being subjected to physical harm. Even if harm is never actually inflicted, the threat of imminent harm through words or actions is often enough to obtain an assault conviction. Battery is defined as the physical act of striking a victim without that person’s consent, rather than just threats of harm. Though assault and battery are often referred to as a single violent crime, they are still considered separate under the law.
Florida Penalties for Assault & Battery
The most basic assault charge in Florida is a misdemeanor of the second degree, which is punishable by 60 days in jail and fines up to $500. Battery is typically considered a first-degree misdemeanor and may involve one year in jail and a fine of $1,000. Penalties may be increased if defendants have prior battery charges on their records, or if assault or battery is committed against someone who works in law enforcement or healthcare.
Aggravated Assault & Battery
Aggravated assault is an assault with a deadly weapon or with the intent to commit a felony. In 2012, there were 58,958 reported cases of aggravated assault in Florida. The crime is classified as a third-degree felony with penalties of up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
Aggravated battery is considered the most serious basic assault charge and it occurs when the defendant intentionally causes serious bodily harm or disfigurement or uses a deadly weapon. Battery committed against someone who is pregnant (if the defendant was aware of the pregnancy) is also considered aggravated battery. The crime is considered a second-degree felony and may incur 15 years’ incarceration and $10,000 in fines.
Work with a Trusted Clearwater Criminal Defense Attorney
At Bauer Crider Kenny & Parry, we work with individuals and families throughout Florida and have four convenient offices to serve Clearwater, Tampa, St. Pete, and Pinellas, Pasco, and Hillsborough Counties.
We offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case, so don’t hesitate to contact us online or call right away at (727) 205-0968.