DUI Lawyer Clearwater
Reduce or Defeat Your DUI Charges in Clearwater
Facing a DUI charge can be daunting, and the flood of emotions you feel following your arrest can only add to the stress of the situation. Being arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can have serious implications for your future. Be aggressive in your defense by contacting our Clearwater DUI Lawyers.
At Bauer Crider Kenny & Parry, our criminal defense attorneys understand what is at stake for each of our clients who face DUI charges. The lasting impact of a DUI is something we want to help you avoid. We understand that everyone makes mistakes, and we don’t want you to pay for yours for the rest of your life.
Contact Bauer Crider Kenny & Parry today for a consultation.
DUI Penalties in Florida
Depending on your arrest and defense, the consequences of DUI can be mild to severe. These penalties also depend on whether this is your first DUI or if you're a multiple DUI offender. Penalties may include:
- License suspension
- Jail time
- DUI school
- Ignition interlock device installed in vehicle
- Impound of vehicle
License Suspension in Florida
According to Florida law, you only have 10 days to prevent license suspension if you're charged with a DUI. If your blood alcohol content was .08% or higher, your license could be suspended for up to 6 months, or longer if you refused a breath, blood or urine test. Our lawyers can help you request an administrative hearing with the DMV to save your license and protect your rights.
Underage DUI in Florida
The legal drinking age in Florida is 21, and the state makes no exceptions to this rule. Although this law has been in place for decades, it doesn’t seem to stop underage people from drinking. Getting charged with underaged drinking is nothing to take lightly, but getting charged with an underage DUI is even more serious. For everyone 21 and older, the legal BAC driving limit is .08%, but the limit for everyone under 21 is .02%. When an officer thinks a driver might be driving under the influence, they can pull the driver over and ask for a BAC test.
Because of Florida’s implied consent laws, if an underage driver refuses to take a BAC test their license can be suspended for a year. Once a driver is detained, they have 10 days to file a petition for a hearing. Drivers can get a temporary driving permit, that is valid for 10 days. To get a temporary permit, drivers need to file for an administrative review hearing. This hearing can have a big impact on the driver’s ability to get a valid license, so having a DUI lawyer at this point is ideal.
The first time a driver gets convicted of an underage DUI they can be fined up to $2,000, have their license suspended for 6 months, and may serve jail time. For a second conviction they can spend a year in jail, be fined $4,000 and have their license suspended for a year. In addition to penalties from the state, insurance companies can raise driver’s premium or cancel the policy entirely.
Build a Solid DUI Defense
Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, whether you took a blood, breath or urine test, we only have a limited amount of time to build your case in order to portray your situation in the best possible light. The more time we have to prepare, the stronger your case will be. Contact Bauer Crider Kenny & Parry immediately after your arrest for maximum defense.
Call the Clearwater DUI Attorneys at Bauer Crider Kenny & Parry
Take the right steps to secure your future and protect yourself from DUI charges by calling on an aggressive legal team. We are dedicated to our clients and will continually guide you throughout every step of your case, giving you honest, useful advice.
Our Clearwater DUI attorneys have over 100 years of combined trial experience and we have three locations to better serve clients in the Clearwater, Tampa, St. Pete, Pinellas, Pasco and Hillsborough Counties. Don’t trust your case to just anyone, call our offices for efficient, affordable legal defense.
Our legal team of Clearwater DUI lawyers can be reached at (727) 205-0968 for legal help, all day, every day.
2 counts Aggravated Assault with a Firearm Penalty Reduced
2 Counts First Degree Murder Not Guilty
2 Counts Lewd and Lascivious Battery and Sexual Battery Not Guilty
2 Counts of Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
20 Counts Of Possession Of Child Pornography Case Dismissed
Aggravated Child Abuse Not Guilty
Aggravated Manslaughter of a Child Case Dismissed
Battery By Strangulation Case Dismissed
Cocaine Trafficking Not Guilty
Drug Trafficking Case Dismissed